One year after the exhibition "The Nomadic Worlds of Federica Matta" at Bordeaux Submarine Base, Federica Matta was invited by the City to design a festive walk prefiguring the new pedestrian crossing between Place Dormoy and Sainte-Croix…

Registered as part of the urban project "Bordeaux [Re]Centers" and "Participiales 2013" (Bordeaux participatory event), the festive stroll "From the Earth to the Moon" had the ambition to make discover the new pedestrian axis to residents of Bordeaux through the dreamlike and poetic vision of Federica Matta...

Thanks to the help of the City of Bordeaux and the Epicerie Solidaire, Atelier d'éco Solidaire, Restos du Coeur, the Mollat bookstore and Côte Ouest Agency, this cosmic crossing - more than a kilometer long - could take shape.

Conceived as an initiatory journey, each stage of this poetic and festive walk was an opportunity for Bordeaux residents to come together, reinvent themselves and think of a New Bordeaux, a new way of living in an urban area and of new ways of living together.

"We will go forward with the Earth under our feet to the Moon which appears to us from time to time, as a surprise, a breath, a path in our imagination. An open door to the invisible." said Federica Matta.

 

Welcomed by the birds of Attar, perched on the branches of the trees of Place Dormoy, we discover their history: that of birds in search of a king, an identity, a conscience. In their company, we leave Place Dormoy and arrive at the doors of Santé Navale where we can connect to the poetry of Otherworldliness... It helps us to capture the vibrant energy that the City of Bordeaux diffuses through its desire for change.

"Chamanimals", who are our guides and protectors, join us and accompany us in listening to the memories of the Africans, resonating in each one of us, impacting our identities. Here, we treat the mind of the bodies with "food-force". We leave Santé Navale...

Henceforth escorted by "Chamanimals" and mermaids, we reach the street of Fort Louis where we pay tribute to the compassion found, to our lifesaving humanity. The birds whisper to our ears the beautiful phrase of Attar: "you have made a long journey to reach the traveler". We grasp the words of Segalen and Rimbaud... The music of Jean-Sébastien Bach then welcomes us in the forecourt of the Sainte-Croix abbatial church, which plunges us into the beauty of spirituality.

Let us go a little further then let us cross the Conservatoire which is awakening under each of our steps... Music embraces us; we dance to the the Garonne quays in the company of the moon and stars... In communion, we dance at the discretion of this joy and this desire to live together in this new world that is being built little by little, step by step…

Some "Chamanimals" gathered around Federica Matta.

Place Dormoy, from top to bottom and from left to right: "From the Earth to the Moon" mural created by Federica Matta; one of the children wearing his "masks-mascarons" made by him during Federica Matta's workshop; Federica Matta accompanied by Alain Moga (Deputy Mayor of the southern district of Bordeaux), from the urban planner and the "Chamanimals; a "Chamanimal" handing out the luminous badges "From the Earth to the Moon"; a child and his mask-mascaron; gathering under the trees of Place Dormoy; a part of the fresco "From the Earth to the Moon".

Santé Navale, from top to bottom and from left to right: arrival of the crowd at the entrance of Santé Navale under the big kakemono "From the Earth to the Moon"; discovery of the" Chamanimals-beacons" of Santé Navale; Federica Matta in front of the "Chamanimals-culbutos"; Bordeaux residents heading to the heart of Santé Navale...
Santé Navale, kakemonos paths: kakemonos remember Bordeaux residents of the role Santé Navale had in the progress of medicine by learning other ways of practicing medicine all over the world.
Inner courtyard of Santé Navale, from top to bottom and from left to right: the inhabitants taste the mystery breads prepared by the association Epicerie Solidaire; Federica Matta, Alain Juppé (Mayor of Bordeaux) and Alain Moga (Deputy Mayor of Bordeaux Sud district) ; Federica Matta speaks about Santé Navale; Alain Juppé giving his speech to the inhabitants of Bordeaux Sud; children have fun; Screening of a short film telling the story of Santé Navale...
André Meunier square, from top to bottom and from left to right: the crowd leaves Santé Navale to get to André Meunier square; a large animated projection made by Federica welcome them; Alain Juppé and Federica Matta contemplates the screening, children play...
On the way to Renaudel square, from top to bottom and from left to right: kakemonos of Segalen, Rimbaud and Attar border the path that leads the inhabitants to Sainte-Croix abbatial church; a huge animated projection made by Federica Matta and screened on Sainte-Croix facade welcomes the crowd under airs of J.S Bach music; children pick up some luminous sticks near the entrance of the abbatial church...
Conservatoire and quay of the Moon, from top to bottom and from left to right: Bordeaux inhabitants are heading towards the Conservatoire which is exceptionally opened for the festive occasion; inside, solo musicians perform a "chaos opera" ; Alain Juppé and Federica Matta enjoying the music played by the cellist; Animated waves carry everyone out of the Conservatoire; children play with the projection of the "Bermuda triangle"; towards the Garonne quays, musicians guide the crowd by playing music; Alain Juppé and Alain Moga arrive at the Garonne banks holding "balloons-tears"; releasing of the "balloons-tears"; the Garonne lightened up by the Moon.
 
Home     News     Bio-Geography     Paintings & Drawings     Sculptures     Public Art     Books     Contact

Une année après l'exposition "Les Mondes nomades" à la Base sous-marine de Bordeaux, Federica Matta fut à nouveau invitée par la Ville afin de concevoir une promenade festive préfigurant la nouvelle traversée piétonne reliant la Place Dormoy à Sainte-Croix…

Inscrite dans le cadre du projet urbain Bordeaux [Re]Centres et des Participiales 2013 (événement participatif bordelais), la déambulation festive "De la Terre à la Lune" eut pour ambition de faire découvrir le nouvel axe piéton aux bordelais à travers la vision onirique et poétique de Federica Matta...

Grâce à l'aide de la Ville de Bordeaux, des associations Epicerie Solidaire, Atelier d'éco Solidaire, des Restos du coeur, de la librairie Mollat et de l'agence Côte Ouest, cette traversée cosmique - de plus d'un kilomètre de long - pu prendre forme.

Conçu comme un voyage initiatique, chaque étape du parcours fut l'occasion pour les bordelais de se rassembler, de se réinventer et de penser un Nouveau Bordeaux, une nouvelle manière d'habiter la ville et de vivre ensemble.

"Nous allons avancer avec la Terre sous nos pieds jusqu’à la Lune qui nous apparait de temps en temps, comme une surprise, un souffle, un chemin dans notre imaginaire. Une porte ouverte sur l’invisible."

 

Accueillis par les oiseaux d'Attar, perchés sur les branches des arbres de la place Dormoy, nous découvrons leur histoire : celle d'oiseaux à la recherche d'un roi, d'une identité, d'une conscience. En compagnie des oiseaux, nous quittons les arbres et arrivons aux portes de Santé Navale où la poésie des Ailleurs nous aide à capter l'énergie vibrante que la Ville de Bordeaux diffuse par son désir de changement.

Les chamanimaux, guides et protecteurs, nous rejoignent et nous accompagnent dans l'écoute des mémoires des Afriques, résonnant en chacun de nous, percutant nos identités. Ici, nous soignons l'esprit des corps grâce aux "aliments-force". Nous quittons Santé Navale...

Dorénavant escortés par les chamanimaux et les sirènes, nous atteignons la rue du Fort Louis où nous rendons hommage à la compassion retrouvée, à notre salvatrice humanité. Les oiseaux murmurent à nos oreilles la belle phrase d'Attar: "vous avez fait un long voyage pour arriver au voyageur". Nous saisissons les mots de Segalen et de Rimbaud... La musique de Bach nous accueille alors sur le parvis de l'Abbatiale Sainte-Croix qui nous plonge dans la beauté de la spiritualité.

Avançons encore un peu et traversons le Conservatoire se réveillant sous chacun de nos pas... La musique nous enlace ; nous dansons jusqu'aux quais de la Garonne en compagnie de la lune et des étoiles ; nous dansons en communion cette joie et cette volonté de vivre ensemble dans ce monde nouveau qui se construit petit à petit, pas à pas…

Les chamanimaux autour de Federica Matta.

Place Dormoy - de haut en bas et de gauche à droite : la fresque "De la terre à la lune" créée par Federica Matta ; un des enfants participants à la réalisation de leurs masques-camarons ; Federica Matta accompagnée de Alain Moga (Maire-adjoint du quartier sud de Bordeaux), de l'urbaniste et des chamanimaux ; un chamanimal distribuant les badges lumineux "De la Terre à la Lune" ; un enfant et son masque-macaron ; rassemblement sous les arbres de la place Dormoy ; un pan de la fresque "De la Terre à la Lune".

Santé Navale - de haut en bas et de gauche à droite : Arrivée de la foule à l'entrée de Santé Navale, sous le grand kakemono "De la terre à la lune" ; découverte des chamanimaux-balises de Santé Navale ; Federica Matta devant les chamanimaux-culbutos ; les bordelais de diirigent au coeur de Santé Navale...
Santé Navale, allée des kakemonos : les kakemonos réalisés par Federica Matta avec l'aide précieuse de Yann Le Ny dévoilent les médecines des Ailleurs...
Cour intérieure de Santé Navale : de haut en bas et de gauche à droite : les habitants dégustent les pains mystères préparés par l'association Epicerie Solidaire ; Federica Matta, Alain Juppé (Maire de Bordeaux) et Alain Moga (Maire-adjoint du quartier Bordeaux Sud) ; Federica Matta raconte Santé Navale ; Alain Juppé tenant son discours auprès des habitants de Bordeaux sud ; les enfants s'amusent ; visionnage d'un petit film narrant l'histoire du lieu et des personnes liés au site de Santé Navale...
Place Meunier - de haut en bas et de gauche à droite : la foule quitte Santé Navale pour arriver sur la Place Meunier ; les bordelais découvrent en musique la grande projection animée de Federica Matta ; Alain Juppé et Federica Matta contemple la projection , les enfants jouent...
En route pour la Place Renaudel - de haut en bas et de gauche à droite : les kakemonos de Segalen, Rimbaud, et d'Attar bordent le chemin qui mène les habitants vers l'abbaye Sainte-Croix sur la place Renaudel ; une immense projection animée, réalisée par Federica Matta, accueille les citadins sous les airs de J.S Bach ; les enfants ramassent les batons lumineux déposés au bas de l'église...
Conservatoire et quai de la Lune : de haut en bas et de gauche à droite : les bordelais se dirigent vers le conservatoire dont les portes leurs sont exceptionnellement ouvertes ; à l'intérieur, des musiciens solistes entament leurs partitions pour un "chaos opéra" ; Alain Juppé et Federica Matta en train d'apprécier la musique jouée par la violoncelliste ; les vagues nous portent à l'extérieur du Conservatoire ; les enfants jouent avec la projection du "triangle des Bermudes" ; en direction des quais de la Garonne, des musiciens nous guident en musique ; Alain Juppé et Alain Moga arrivent sur les quais de la Garonne munis des ballons-larmes ; lâché des ballons-larmes; une Lune éclaire l'entre-deux rives...
 
Accueil     News     Bio-Geographie     Peintures & Dessins     Sculptures     Art Public     Livres     Contact